Lion’s Share of SA Tourism Awards go to Local Operators

November 6, 2023 10:51 am in by
Monarto Safari Park took out two gold wins at the 2023 SA Tourism Awards. Photo: Zoos SA

The winners of the 2023 South Australian Tourism Awards have been revealed, with our local regions in the Hills, Fleurieu Peninsula, Coorong and Murraylands taking the lion’s share.

The South Australian Tourism Awards program, delivered annually by Tourism Industry Council South Australia (TiCSA), recognises business excellence and outstanding achievement in the state’s tourism industry. Winners were announced at a Gala Dinner on Friday 3 November at the Adelaide Convention Centre. 

This year, three of the four businesses that were inducted into the Tourism Awards Hall of Fame for winning gold in their categories for a third consecutive year, are local.

Article continues after this ad

The Cedars Hahndorf won the Cultural Tourism category, Woodhouse Adventure Park took out gold in Unique Accommodation and Naiko Retreat won for Self-contained Accommodation.

Monarto Safari Park won two major prizes, the Major Tourist Attraction, beating Adelaide Oval, and for a third year in a row won the Voters’ Choice Award for Experience / Service.

The other Voters’ Choice Award winner was BIG4 Renmark Riverfront Holiday Park for ‘Accomodation’., Nearly 20,000 votes were cast across all finalists for the recognition.

Other winners include the d’Arenberg Cube, the Big Duck Boat Tours, Spirit of the Coorong, Seppeltsfield Wines, Sequoia Lodge.

Winners from most categories will go on to represent South Australia in the national Australian Tourism Awards in Darwin in 2024.

Article continues after this ad

For a full list of winners and medallists, visit


Keep up to date

Sign up for our newsletter