Local News

SA Bans Victorians from Entering


Victorians will be barred from entering our South Australia from midnight tonight (Wednesday 8 July) following a dramatic escalation of coronavirus cases in Melbourne.

On Tuesday, 191 new cases were recorded, pushing Victoria's active infection figure to 800.

Only South Australian residents and essential travellers can apply to enter the state.

Their applications will be reviewed and if approved, they will be required to quarantine, or perform their essential duties under strict guidelines, including the use of a face mask when interacting with South Australians.

Major crossings along the Murray River are being closely monitored.

SA's borders with NSW and the ACT will re-open on July 20, subject to ongoing public health risk assessments.

The Police Commissioner has also advised SA will no longer accept repatriated flights once its reached its cap of up to 1,200 people, however the Marshall Government is hoping to bring back international students.

A trial program to bring back 800 students will determine if another 2,400 can be brought back in, as early as next month.

The first group of students,  from across South East Asia, are likely to return in August.

Trade Minister David Ridgway said the situation is still unfolding and the safety of South Australians is the priority.